Material Detail

Carnot Cycle (Heat Engine)

Carnot Cycle (Heat Engine)

This java applet show you the physics processes of a Carnot heat engine. Carnot cycle is a four-stage reversible sequence consisting of: 1. adiabatic compression, 2. isothermal expansion at high temperature T2, 3. adiabatic expansion, 4. isothermal compression at low temperature T1, 5. back to stage 1 and continue.


More about this material


Log in to participate in the discussions or sign up if you are not already a MERLOT member.
Stanley Howard
Stanley Howard (Faculty)
21 years ago
Very nice application. It is very clever. I would like to see quantitative
values for heat and work added. The program runs at impressive speed. It takes
a little while to figure out the use but once learned it is very easy to use.
Very nice work!
John Walkup
John Walkup (Staff)
22 years ago
I really liked this applet. The graph and piston animation complement each other perfectly. Highly recommended.