Material Detail

The Carnot Cycle

The Carnot Cycle

This java applet show you the physics processes of a Carnot heat engine. Carnot cycle is a four stage reversible sequence consisting of 1. adiabatic compression 2. isothermal expansion at high temperature T2 3. adiabatic expansion 4. isothermal compression at low temperature T1 5. back to stage 1 and continue.


  • Editor Reviews
  • User Rating
  • Comments
  • Learning Exercises
  • Bookmark Collections
  • Course ePortfolios
  • Accessibility Info

More about this material


Log in to participate in the discussions or sign up if you are not already a MERLOT member.